Welcome to
Early Settlement Mediation!

Please click on the interactive map below
to locate your regional program
ok-county-mapharperwoodswoodwardmajordeweyblainekingfishercaddocanadiangradycimarrontexasbeaveralfalfagrantkayosagewashingtonnowataellisgarfieldnoblepawneetulsaroger millsloganpaynecreekokmulgeebeckhamcusteroklahomalincolnokfuskeemcintoshharmongreerkiowawashitacomanchemcclainclevelandpott.seminolehughespittsburghaskelljacksontillmancottonstephensgarvinpontotoccoalatokapushmatahalatimerjeffersoncartermurraylovemarshalljohnstonbryanchoctawcraigottawarogersmayesdelawarewagonercherokeeadairmuskogeesequoyahlefloremccurtain

Alternative Dispute Resolution System
News and Happenings

Western Oklahoma!  Stacy Horner, Director, Early Settlement Mediation – West Program, and Phil Johnson, State Director, Alternative Dispute Resolution System  trained new volunteer  mediators on the campus of SOSU in Weatherford Tuesday.  It was a beautiful campus on a rainy day!
Volunteers ROCK!  I had the privilege of traveling to Ardmore to celebrate the retirement of long time Early Settlement Volunteer Mediator, Harold Davis, on Thursday.  Harold has been a volunteer mediator for 22 years, mediating over 1,500 mediations with 4,818 volunteer hours. Several area Judges attended the event.  “Volunteers don’t get paid not because they’re worthless, but because they’re PRICELESS!” 
OCU Law School!  Professor Connie Smothermon invited Lauren O’Brien, Early Settlement -Oklahoma County Program Director, and Phil Johnson, State Director of the Alternative Dispute Resolution System, to come speak to her law class today.  The Early Settlement program works closely with OCU Law  on providing externships for 2L-3L law students. 
Another great week of training Oklahomans to become volunteer mediators for the nationally-recognized Early Settlement Mediation program.
Lauren O’Brien, Director, Early Settlement Mediation – Oklahoma County, past Early Settlement Directors’ Association President, received an appreciation award from current President Jay Irby, Director, Early Settlement – North.  Lauren served a two year term as President during the pandemic
The Alternative Dispute Resolution System was invited to present at the Oklahoma Indian Child Welfare Conference in Durant this week.  Tim Scott, Statewide Child Permanency Coordinator, Jaxie Johnston, Director, Early Settlement-South Central program, & Phil Johnson, Statewide Director, Alternative Dispute Resolution System, presented a breakout session about our nationally recognized mediation program to attendees.  “It is always exciting to share about our program around the state,” Phil Johnson said, “we look forward to working collaboratively with our tribal courts.”  Felice Hamilton, Director, Court Improvement Program, attended the conference as well. 



The Alternative Dispute Resolution System in Oklahoma is made up of thirteen (13) regional Early Settlement Mediation Centers (including one (1) municipal program) which provide FREE mediation services all 77 counties in Oklahoma. There are fourteen (14) State Agencies with programs offering specialized mediation services. The Alternative Dispute Resolution System was authorized (1983) and funded (1985) by the state legislature through the Oklahoma Dispute Resolution Act, 12 O.S. Supp. 1997, § 1801 et seq. The Administrative Director of the Courts administers and supervises the Alternative Dispute Resolution System through a designated, State Director, with the ongoing input of the Dispute Resolution Advisory Board.